Thom Yorke Shares Two New Classical Singles

Helen Payne 29 April 2019

Thom Yorke has released two new tracks.

Don’t Fear The Light and Gawpers premiered on BBC Radio 3’s Unclassified Show over the weekend, and were written by the Radiohead front man and composer as part of the Minimalist Dream House tour earlier this year alongside the National's Bryce Dessner, who recently released ‘El Chan’, and pianist sisters Katia and Marielle Labeque.

The first piece from Yorke is a classical piece arranged to be played by two pianos, electronics and a modular synthesiser, whereas the second sees Yorke singing and operating a synth drone. Of the new material, Yorke said:

“Katia and Marielle suggested for a few years that I write some music for them. Usually I would laugh and explain that I couldn’t read music, but in truth I was intrigued by the idea. I realised writing for score or on a sequencer and modular gear are really not so far apart but the best part for me was watching the basics of what I’d written being brought to life by the sisters and their interpretation, making the notes theirs.”

Listen here, with the new pieces playing at the 27 and 47 minute marks.

Thom Yorke also shared some unreleased material from his 2018 ‘Suspiria’ soundtrack back in February.


Other Thom Yorke stories

Thom Yorke Announces UK And European Shows For Summer 2020

Thom Yorke Reveals New Track Daily Battles Featuring Red Hot Chili Peppers' Flea

Thom Yorke Releases 'Not The News Rmx EP'

Thom Yorke - Anima (Album Review)

Thom Yorke Announces New Album 'ANIMA' And Accompanying Film

Thom Yorke Announces North American Fall Tour


©2014 All rights reserved.